Groups located in or around York?

Open to public view.

Groups located in or around York?

Postby SwiftSnowmane » 04 Jun 2007 22:46

Greetings!

I was referred to this site from another forum (MyArmoury.com), and I hope that you can maybe help me out.....

I am from the US originally (though currently living in Iceland) and will soon be moving to the UK. I will be in the UK for a year as I am getting my M.A. in Medieval Sudiies from the University of York starting October 2007. I am very much interested in joining some sort of historical martial arts group while I am in the UK, though I must admit I am a complete beginner when it comes to HEMA. I have studied academically but really have no practical skills....yet. I hope to be able to remedy that a little bit starting this Fall. :)

My area of interest is mainly in the early medieval period (Migration-era, Anglo-Saxon, and VIking), but of course I realize it may be hard to find a group that does that kind of fighting (aside from reenactment groups). I am of course interested in later periods as well. The only thing I am NOT interested in is fencing (nothing against it, its just not what I'm currently interested in). Basically something that is within the medieval period would be preferable. :p

If anyone here could point me in the right direction towards a group or chapter located in or around the York area, I would be most grateful. The closest thing I have been able to find so far on my own is the group that is located at the Royal Armouries in Leeds. I am willing to travel that far if need be, but I am hoping for something perhaps a bit closer to where I will be located.

Thanks in advance,

~ Shamsi
SwiftSnowmane
Recruit in training

Postby SwiftSnowmane » 05 Jun 2007 17:14

Edited to say:

I forgot to mention that I also have an interest in keeping up my archery skills while I'm away.....

Soo.....anyone have any suggestions? :wink:
SwiftSnowmane
Recruit in training

Postby scholadays » 05 Jun 2007 17:31