Development of a "new" european swordmanship

Open to public view.

Development of a "new" european swordmanship

Postby OdinoSenzaOcchi » 21 May 2015 18:33

Hi everyone!

I studied martial arts for 10 years and HEMA for 5 years, then 3 years ago I had to stop because I wanted to study in a drama school and it ended taking all my free time. Now I'm getting my degree and I'd like to start again my studies in the HEMA world.
I was thinking about all the things that have been discovered in these years and I think we can all agree that for almost every style we are by now able to recreate a decent interpretation of it. And then a question came out: "But what about now?"
I mean, the historical research is going fine, but what about the development of the knowledge we are studying? I'm well aware that when you are studying a particular author, you have to stick with his teachings; otherwise, it wouldn't be a precise and accurate historical research. But I'm personally starting to think that all this knowledge about different authors and styles should translate also in an attempt to create something new. An european swordmanship, heavily based on the original sources but tweaked to adapt in this age and mixed taking all the useful things and discarding what is not relevant anymore.
This is my thought in these days, probably a useless thought; but I really want to know what you guys think of it. The vast majority of you has years of experience and studies more than me, so I really need your POV! :)
Igne Natura Renovatur Integra
OdinoSenzaOcchi
Corporal

Re: Development of a "new" european swordmanship

Postby MEversbergII » 21 May 2015 21:15

Well, I presume the first place to look is at tournaments: How are they actually fighting, and what are they using to win?

That is, really, the most practical place for a new system of swordsmanship: Write for those who spar.